Obtaining a Real Estate License: The 5 Step Process
1. Complete our 60 Hour Salesperson Pre-Licensing Course
The Real Estate University’s 60 hour Salesperson Pre-licensing Course is approved by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) and satisfies the requirement to sit for the State exam. A Candidate must attend all classes and complete an exam with a 75% passing score. The course includes a comprehensive review for the State exam.
2. Complete and Submit the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) Application for Real Estate License
After successfully completing the Pre-Licensing Course, a candidate will complete the MREC for Resident Salesperson License Appication ( Salesperson Application )and return it to the Commission. Each question must be answered as required or the application will be returned. A Certificate of Completion of the 60 hour Pre-Licensing Course and proper fee must accompany the application, along with a letter of reference from the Candidate’s bank(s) indicating a satisfactory banking experience. After the application is approved, the candidate will receive a Notice of Eligibility from the Commission to take the State exam and an exam schedule.
3. Pass the State Exam
The Candidate shall take a written examination, testing in the following areas: reading, writing, spelling, elementary math, and general knowledge of the statutes of Mississippi relating to real property, deeds, mortgages, agreements of sale, agency, contract, leases, ethics, and appraisals. Upon passing the Mississippi salesperson’s examination and complying with all other conditions for licensure, a temporary license shall be issued to the Candidate.
4. Select a Real Estate Firm
The Provisional Salesperson will need to associate with a real estate firm or Broker of Record.
5. Complete the Post-Licensing Requirements
The holder of a temporary license is issued a permanent license after satisfactorily completing a 30 post‐license course approved by the Commission and offered by an approved provider. The course must be completed within 12 months of issuance of a temporary license. If the Provisional Salesperson does not complete the course and have a permanent license issued within one (1) year following the first day of the month after its issuance, the temporary license shall automatically expire and lapse. A temporary license is not subject to renewal.
6. Obtain a Permanent License
Upon completing the 30 hour Post-Licensing requirements, a permanent license will be issued to the Salesperson. The licensee is required to complete continuing education as prescribed by the commission.